Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Bundt Cake of Adversity

on July 26, 2013
image

Behold! The cake of adversity!

Bundt Cake of Adversity
(Banana Pecan Bread)

1 box yellow cake mix (Just the dry mix.)
2 tsp. cinnamon
5 mashed spotted bananas
1 bag (2 cups?) pecan pieces

Politely turn down dinner at your parents house because you already purchased a pizza on your dreaded trip to Walmart. Wait until the kids wake up from their naps and are in the full throws of post-nap brawling to put the pizza in the oven.

Now you are ready to prep your cake!

Mash the bananas in a bowl. (I used a potato masher.) Mix in cake mix, cinnamon, and pecans. Pour Glop into greased bundt pan.

Chase kids out of the kitchen.

Notice a funky bad stank coming from the oven. Check the oven for dog food. Find what looks like mouse droppings in the bottom of the oven. Get instant pregnant nausea and wonder if there is a dead mouse somewhere in the oven, most likely lured in by your toddler’s obsession with putting dog food in the oven.

Call your mom and take them up on dinner.

Leave the nasty burned mouse poop smelling pizza and wrestle a dog, preschooler, toddler, and covered cake pan through the rain to the car. Fight and kill the 4 mosquitos that followed you in the car while driving and scolding the dog when she tries to sniff the cake. Threaten to throw your son’s lightsaber out of the window if he pokes you with it one more time.

Arrive at mom’s. Eat dinner while the cake finally bakes. Bathe pasta covered kiddos.

Take the cake out, flip it onto a plate, and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Enjoy your cake!

(Silently pray the toasted mouse poo smell has gone away.)

We live out in the country now and have had a lot of rain. We don’t usually have mice and I am praying I am wrong… But it definitely looked mouse poop-ish and it smelled bad.

I had a whole thing of bananas I forgot about when we went on our mini-cation that I wanted to use. The cake is really good. Strong banana flavor and moist.

Update: Husband cleaned out the oven this morning. He swears that it wasn’t mouse poop and found some extra crispy doggy kibble by the heating element. I’m still going to let it sit with oven cleaner overnight before I use it again… Yuck.


10 responses to “The Bundt Cake of Adversity

  1. momtimes4 says:

    Ha Ha Ha!!!! Seriously you made me laugh. I only laugh because we had mice before in a house that we lived in when we first got married.

    • I haven’t baked in a while. I was all proud of myself for actually turning on the oven as opposed to serving the pregnant lady special (cereal or sandwiches). Oh, my… Lol

  2. See, this is why I don’t even attempt to bake anymore! haha! Glad you finally managed to get the cake done and I hope the poop smell left by the time you got home! 🙂

  3. Jessica S says:

    LMBO! Your post seriously cracked me up. Out here on the ol’ homestead (house built in 1873), we once had a mouse find its way in (and we have two cats that LIVE inside… they have since been fired from guard-duty, and must now share their house with two dogs), and I found a few poo pellets. They didn’t smell. I have a very sensitive nose, and it was on like super-high alert when I was pregnant, too (that’s when I found the offending rice-like poo). So, I would say trust your hubby–if it smelled (ironically), it probably wasn’t mouse poo. Hehe

    Glad I found your blog. 🙂

    • Lol I just have to find a way to get my toddler to stop dumping handfuls of kibble in my oven. It really looked mouse turd-esque to me, but pregnant imagination can be dangerous. 😉

  4. Hilarious! Sounds exactly like a day in our house except I haven’t found mouse droppings in our oven to date but I totally wouldn’t be surprised!

    • I had a friend once ask if I exaggerated to make the blog funnier. Um no, if anything I have to omit details to make it fit on an entry!

      My husband promised me it wasn’t mouse poo, but I’m still leery of the oven now. It sat with oven cleaner overnight.

  5. […] kibble. I especially don’t remember to check at 7am while trying to make banana bread (a la Bundt Cake of Adversity) for a friend at church recovering from […]

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4