Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dream big… While napping.

on July 18, 2013

My parents have one of my nieces for the night and asked if my son could tag along to give her a playmate. So I woke up this morning knowing I’d be down by one child. I was, however, happily surprised when my dad decided to take E as well. I think her charms won Papaw over. (She very sweetly requested her shoes.)

While I love my kids and will miss them by tomorrow, time alone has been rare since the move and my full-time transition to being a stay at home mom. My husband doesn’t leave for work until later this afternoon, so we are looking at several hours of no kids (besides Baby F the womb squatter).

“I can fold laundry without the kids unfolding it!”

“We can take a nap! Or go to the bathroom without anyone else in there.”

“Let’s have a 10th Kingdom marathon.”

Dream big people. Dream big.

image

My plans for today...

Now what am I going to do with myself once my husband leaves for work? Probably eat oatmeal for supper (followed by ice cream), watch trash TV, fold laundry, and pass out on the couch by 9PM… And it sounds wonderful.

***After posting, we realized E left us a present. Her new favorite hobby is hiding dog food in the oven. Since it has happened a few times now, you’d think we’d check before turning the oven on… You’d be wrong. We forget about how much she enjoys toasting kibble for Miri… Until we turn the oven on to preheat and start getting weird aromas drifting our of the kitchen.

Thanks kid. Have fun with Nonna and Papaw. Please don’t put kibble in their oven!***

image

Mmm, burned kibble and cinnamon rolls!


11 responses to “Dream big… While napping.

  1. Persephone says:

    I love that show. I so need the DVD and to watch it again!

  2. modestmeese says:

    I have that DVD set and I love it! I’m so happy to see somebody else who loves it because everybody around here doesn’t even know of The 10th Kingdom. Oh and I absolutely love that mug!

  3. That mug is fantastic! enjoy your down time!!!

  4. kerihouchin says:

    I love when the kids stay with grandparents! Our summer “break” usually includes catching up on chores and trying to figure out how to cook for just 2.

    • Andy made some chicken for lunch and he asked me if I wanted it left whole or nuggets. “Let’s avoid anything ‘nugget’ related while the kids are gone.” I did clean the couch this afternoon. When else could I keep the kids off of it long enough to dry.

  5. The dog food in the oven is so funny!

    • She’s done it about 3 different times now. My husband is a supervisor at a baby store and he asked me last night if I wanted him to get an oven lock… “We are on our third kid and you are just telling me that those exist!?”

  6. […] a funky bad stank coming from the oven. Check the oven for dog food. Find what looks like mouse droppings in the bottom of the oven. Get instant pregnant nausea and […]

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4