Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

No more butts

on September 5, 2012

I am very tired of naked little boy bottom showing up in my living room. I’m also tired of grimy unwashed potty hands touching things and stuff being left in the toilet.

K has gotten bad about running out of the bathroom post-pee and giving me a blow by blow of events. While I am proud of him for going potty, I really don’t need to know his progress between each step.

“I need to go potty mom!”
“Then go potty…”
“OK!!!!”

“I pottied mom!”
“Don’t touch that toy. Go flush, get dressed, and wash your hands.”
“OK!!!”

“I flushed!”
“Put your underpants on and wash your hands.”
“OK!”

“I’m dressed!”
“Did you wash your hands?”
“No, I’ll go wash them.”


At least five times every day.

It gets exhausting. He knows what he is supposed to do but won’t do it without prompting.

I’d finally had it up to my eyeballs.

I am not an artist at all but I decided to make him a reminder. He can’t read much yet but he knows “stop”. I made it simple and easy to follow and added pictures.

Here it is:

20120905-202946.jpg

We went over it a few times. I set it up like a role play. We pretended he went potty and went through his steps before he leaves the bathroom.

He picked out the construction stickers to hang it. Here he is with his biggest goober smile:

20120905-203222.jpg

It was fun for him and (hopefully) sanity saving for me. It is another example of teaching your children. You have to make it interesting for the little ones or it won’t stick.

Anyone else have an aspiring nudist?


3 responses to “No more butts

  1. Amanda B. says:

    Good idea! Great example of finding a way to really get the message across before you got frustrated enough to lose your cool.

  2. thecleverspender says:

    LOL! So funny!!!

  3. […] mentioned K’s bathroom hijinks and habits in previous posts. That kid is convinced that I don’t need to go to the bathroom by myself […]

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4