Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Adventure in Texas Hill Country

on October 4, 2012

I survived my road trip with two kids!

We left yesterday morning on the scenic country route. The kids were amazing on the trip down. No crying, no messes, no fuss. Just a gorgeous drive.

I love Texas hill country. It is so awesomely beautiful. I love the red dirt and boulders peeping out between cacti and wildflowers. I love all passing all the farms and hills. I love the big Texas sky.

Spring is the best time to drive through hill country, but Fall comes in a close second.

My presentation went well. It wasn’t a huge group but we had a good time. I covered parenting tools and ideas for creative play. We had a few child care workers too.

The best part of this trip by far was getting to see my best friend. We were friends and our husbands were friends in college and now we have children that play together. I missed my sweet nephew and niece. I really wished they lived closer.

The kids had a blast playing together. Their son is almost 5 and their daughter is exactly one year older than E. They do really well together.

Yesterday afternoon we took the kids out to an area called The Slab. It is a big basin of granite riddled with streams and natural pools.

E decided to plop down in a puddle.

The boys climbing the “mountain”.

Playing the natural pools.

My friend and the kids playing while I took K to relieve himself. He got to pee outside. He was in boy heaven.

Simply beautiful.

The kids had so much fun.

After bathing some stinky, soggy children we loaded up for the long trip home. We took the boring main highway home. It is longer but has a lower threat of deer and more towns if we needed a break. The kids were out cold before we even left my friend’s driveway.

For how much I loved the drive down, I hated the drive home that much more. There were big trucks everywhere and I was so tired! I also had damp jeans from wading the pools and desperately wanted a shower.

We stopped once at a gas station. I managed to drop K out of the truck.

Poor kid…

Mother of the year over here. I woke him up and set his feet on the ground but he didn’t stand, he fell.

K and I finally went potty and got E changed. I let K pick out some cheese crackers and I got some coffee. The creamer machine mooed at me… I did not appreciate this. Oh, and E grabbed one of brother’s crackers and decided to paint her toes with it.

Luckily the coffee helped and K stayed away the rest of the way. We jammed to Imagination Movers for the remaining 3 hours of the drive.

We were very happy to see daddy. That sweet man had the house clean and all the laundry put away when we got there. He knows the keys to my heart. Cleaning beats gifts any day.

Showering and slipping into my own bed was glorious.


Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4