Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

A Mirror of Ourselves

on October 5, 2012

This post is very real to me and very vulnerable. I’ve been kicking the idea around of posting something to this effect for a while…

I, like most women, am insecure in my own beauty and worth from time to time. I have never been a thin person. My complexion isn’t perfect. My hair doesn’t always sit in straightened glory.

I can easily find my faults. It is made easier by the images that I face everyday. Beautiful put-together shiny photos of moms and bright eyed kiddos. I look at them and their articles on losing baby weight and rekindling the romance and can’t help but wonder if they ever had baby weight. If they are “loosing the spark” with their spouse, what hope do the rest of us have?

I look at my kids and they are so freaking beautiful. I can’t fathom going without E’s bright blue eyes or K’s goofy smile. They are perfection.

It has been hard for me to reconcile that my daughter can look so much like me but I still find her so beautiful. I comment on how pretty her eyes are and my mom quickly points out that she has my eyes.

She got those bright baby blues from me and they are gorgeous. She is also incredibly stubborn and that is all me too.

It is amazing how our children are a mirror image of ourselves. They are great at showing us our best and most beautiful qualities and our worst traits. It is inspiring to be the best us we can be. Who I am will effect who they become.

My mom loves pointing out to me when my kids are acting just like me. I look forward to this magical grandparent power someday…

We got E’s one year photo shoot pics back today. Here are few:

In the beautiful tutu my brother and sister-in-law got for her.

Beautiful. We did good on the baby makin’!

Our photos were taken by a dear family friend at the church. Here are my babies walking up to the alter.

2 responses to “A Mirror of Ourselves

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

