Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Bodies of Water Cards

on August 27, 2012

We pass over a lake every time we visit my mom. K loves the lake and always looks for boats.

The other day we started talking about lakes and rivers and oceans. Now when we are in the car he says, “Tell me the water story ’bout wakes and ribers and the ocean.”

I decided to look for some sort or color sheet or printable on bodies of water for him. I found a free one at Super Teacher Worksheets.

First we colored our cards and talked about each one. I had to point out what parts were water and what parts were land.

20120827-173634.jpg

20120827-173719.jpg

He cut them out with my help. He is 3 and his cutting skills aren’t exactly precise.

Then we played a memory game. I’d ask him where a certain type of body of water was and he would land his plane on it. Of course, this wouldn’t have been complete without him talking in his funny plane voice to each one.

20120827-173953.jpg

K in his deep machine voice: “How ya doing Mr. Lake?”
K in a different voice: “I’m good Mr. Plane!”

He also got a placemat of America and we’ve been working on the states. His plane likes visiting states too.


Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4