Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Baby F is here!

on October 22, 2013

I know it has been a while dear friends. Baby F did, in fact, make a safe healthy debut. I’ve had a hard time blogging during this pregnancy.

In many ways this pregnancy was the easiest. I knew what to expect. I had no weight gain (lost 25+lbs and gained back about 15-20lbs). I never had high blood pressure…

It was also the hardest in many ways. Chasing two kids while pregnant is not easy. We also renovated a house and moved. I also made the choice (along with my OB) to go through this pregnancy without my anxiety medicine.

After E was born, postpartum depression and anxiety hit fairly hard and I had been on a low dose mild medication since she was five months old.

There are so many wrong assumptions about what depression looks like. I never laid in bed and cried all day. I didn’t look like a little cartoon with a storm cloud over my head. I just didn’t feel right. Little things would make the stress resonate in my shoulder blades. I was moody and didn’t cope with things as well. I would want to write or visit friends or do something, but a weirdness would wash over me and I’d hold back.

I was still me. I still got up every day and made breakfast for my kids. I could still joke and visit family. Please remember that if a friend or family member ever approaches you about depression. They may not look depressed or anxious. It can be a silent affliction that lurks in the shadows.

I made a plan with my doctor and pediatrician to start a new breastfeeding safe medication while in the hospital. I don’t regret waiting out my pregnancy, but I feel much more like myself now. Adjusting to three kids is much easier when you don’t feel like you are drowning in stress.

Baby F is almost 4 weeks old now. E and K are over the moon for their baby brother. They both like to hold him and both help grab things for mama. We are well. I’m hopefully back.. As much as a newborn will let me be.

Stay tuned for his birth story with more pictures!

image


11 responses to “Baby F is here!

  1. Congratulations! He is a cutie! Glad to hear everyone is doing well!

  2. Winding road says:

    Congratulations on baby F! I greatly appreciate your honesty about depression and anxiety. Anxiety is very silent but really hard to manage. I battle it on and off and it affected my sleep a good bit this year. Anyway, glad you’re back! Enjoy that sweet baby. 🙂

  3. mathairfiona says:

    Congratulations! Our little ones are just 4 weeks apart. I can relate to the challenges of parenting with a newborn. I hope you have a good support system.

  4. Baby “F” must stand for Baby “Flippin’ Adorable!”.
    I’m so glad that he’s here and all is well. 🙂 Congratulations!
    (Time to bust out that “Tips for Visiting a New, Veteran Mom” post and hang it on your front door hehe).

  5. Mama Goose says:

    Yay! Glad you’re back, and that your adorable little one is here safe and sound! I’m happy you treated your depression instead of suffering through it, and that things are on the upswing.

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4