Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Valentine Play

on February 14, 2013

The kids are finally asleep, Andy is still at work, and I’m force-feeding myself a few pretzels in hopes of lessening the nausea.

Because Andy had to work tonight, we did our date night yesterday. My in-laws graciously agreed to babysit and we got to enjoy amazing Thai food, a bubble tea slush, and adult conversation.

I wanted to make today special for the kids. When they were napping I whipped up some homemade Playdoh. (This is my favorite recipe.) I made blue for K and pink for E. I added a splash of vanilla to make it smell yummy. I set up their little table with small cups of glass stones and beads.

Here is E playing and squishing beads into her dough:

20130214-195335.jpg

Her “art”:

20130214-195423.jpg

K finally woke up and joined us:

20130214-195518.jpg

20130214-195540.jpg

This entertained them for almost an hour and a half! They loved it. They squished in beads and dug them out. They filled E’s little tea cups with “dough tea” and K made “smoovies”. We rolled balls, made roads, and even mixed a little pink and blue together to make purple.

I also filled our cute little heart ice trays (Target $1) with water and added one drop of neon food coloring to each heart. I used blue, pink, and purple.

20130214-200124.jpg

For bath time I dumped all of our frozen hearts into a bin…

20130214-200227.jpg

I set the bin in the bath with them. They had fun dunking them in the water and watching them disappear and color the bath. We eventually had a purple bath. The ice hearts only lasted a few minutes but they really enjoyed it.

No pictures of my ice hearts in action. My kids splash and move too much for bath pictures.

We worked on E recognizing the color purple and the shape of a heart. K and I talked more about color mixing and the states of matter with our ice play.

5 responses to “Valentine Play

  1. Valerie says:

    Adding beads/stones is a GREAT idea!! Thanks for sharing – I will totally be doing this with Samuel next time we pull out the playdoh! 😀
    *Hope you feel better. xx

  2. I love the colored ice in the bathtub idea! easy and different!

    • In warmer weather we’ve also done it on the sidewalk. I filled a couple small glasses with colored water and a small plastic toy inside. We froze them and took everything outside with a couple toy hammers. Baby E just had fun playing with the small colored ice and smashing it. K had fun excavating the toys out of the big blocks.

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

