Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Miller Family 2013- Big News

on February 1, 2013

I have missed blogging deeply over the past month. With all the holiday rush, (seemingly) endless colds/illness/pneumonia, working on the house remodel, and the general business of life, my me time has gotten pushed to the back burner.

When I did finally have time, I would stare at the blank screen and wonder how to begin. It would stretch before me full of unanswered questions- much like the new year.

What is in store for our family this year?

How will we grow and move forward?

What are our goals this year?

Early in the new year I decided that my personal mottos would be Choose Love and Choose Joy.

Love is not a feeling. It is not warm fuzzies and candy hearts. It is not lust or sex. It is not an instant thing.

Love is a choice. It is dirty diapers, chores, and family dinners that you are too tired to cook. It is staying together when you want to punch your spouse in the face. It is saying sorry. It is putting others first.

Joy is also a choice. Happiness comes from our circumstances. Joy comes from God.

I will choose love for myself, my family, and all around me. I will also choose joy, even on the days where happiness is no longer an option. I have many goals but these are the dearest to me.

This year has already brought some surprises…

I went to the doctor this week thinking I was ill. The doctor decided to run a few tests. A while later the nurse popped in and told me, “Well, you don’t have a UTI but you are pregnant! Congratulations! I just wanted to let that sink in before the doctor comes in.”

It was definitely a total shock! Nothing had prepared me for that. I had just finished (what I thought was) a cycle. I had been up on ladders painting the house. We really had no idea that it was even a possibility.

We’ve had a few days to adjust to the idea now.

So 2013 has already become a lot of things. We are moving into a house. Moving forward in our relationship with God. We will be celebrating K’s 4th Birthday in June, E’s 2nd in September, and the birth of Miller #3 later in September!

20130201-140707.jpg

20130201-140755.jpg

20130201-140824.jpg

20130201-140912.jpg

***As an afterthought I decided that some background might be helpful. I only have one ovary. I lost one to a cystic tumor they found when I had K. I wondered if I would ever be able to conceive again without one of my ovaries. In 2011, we were blessed with E. She was planned and we definitely thought she would be our last natural birth! To go from learning about a condition that has left many women infertile to being pregnant with #3 is an amazing gift. I am definitely thankful to God- despite sometimes wondering about his timing!


8 responses to “Miller Family 2013- Big News

  1. Sarah Speegle says:

    That. Is. Awesome. Congratulations!!!

  2. Great news! Congratulations!

  3. Congratulations! I had the same feelings of shock then excitement with my 3rd too. 🙂

  4. fiveintow says:

    God has a great sense of humor!

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4