Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Spooktacular Bows

on October 24, 2012

How about some more fun Halloween craft ideas?

Every loyal reader, friend, and family member knows my love of felt bows and bow ties. I decided to try something new for the season…

Spooktacular Bows

You’ll need:
•Felt (orange, black, white, brown, and green for the ones I made)
•Tulle (purple)
•Thread
•Alligator clips
•Scissors
•Hot Glue
•Laurie Berkner DVD to distract children (optional but reccomended)

Step 1: Cut two strips or felt. About these relative sizes to your clip. (Me measure things? Ha!)

20121024-145659.jpg
Step two: Cut a small triangle out of each end of your bottom layer piece.

20121024-145823.jpg
Step 3: Put a line of hot glue in the middle of the longer piece/top layer and fold the sides to the middle.

20121024-145950.jpg
Step 4: Pinch the middle in and put it on your bottom layer. There should be enough hot glue leaking out of the seam to make it stay.

20121024-150205.jpg
Step 5: cut out a small triangle on the top and bottom of the bottom layer as shown.

20121024-150330.jpg
Step 6: Use a felt strip or ribbon for the middle and glue alligator clip on the back.

20121024-150455.jpg

These are pretty cute as is…

20121024-150544.jpg

For tulle bottom layer: Wrap a few layers of tulle around your fingers, tie it with thread in the middle, and cut through the loops. Do the top layer the same.

20121024-150720.jpg

20121024-150742.jpg

I embellished my finished bows with a felt pumpkin and ghost. I just cut out the shapes- orange pumpkin, brown stem, green leaf, and white ghost. For the ghost face I used a sharpie.

How cute are these?

20121024-151001.jpg


7 responses to “Spooktacular Bows

  1. Oh, those ARE absolutely adorable!! Iris will definitely love this project!!! Thanks for posting!

  2. Oh! too cute… thanks for sharing… from your previous post, I was wondering how to do them! 🙂 really nice

  3. auntie k says:

    So cute and simple! Love the purple one!

  4. […] Andy shaved his beard into a mustache and dressed up as his dad. I wore one of my homemade bows. […]

  5. […] It turned out well for a first run but is a tad big for E. I think I will give this one to my niece and make a smaller version for E. I bet it would be cute with little google eyes but I had rhinestones handy. You can check out our other felt bow projects here, here, and here. […]

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4