Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dyed Cooked Spaghetti Play

on August 23, 2012

We dyed dry noodles with food coloring and rubbing alcohol the other day but I stumbled upon a tutorial for dying noodles with vinegar. You can actually cook the colored noodles and eat them!

Dying noodles for eating/play:

I set up the table with baggies of spaghetti broken in half, a bowl of vinegar with a teaspoon, and food coloring.

20120823-190536.jpg

Daddy helped K count out and pour 3 teaspoons (or 1 tbs) of vinegar into each baggy. They also counted out 6 drops of food coloring into each baggy. We had six total and used a whole ($0.75) pack of spaghetti.

20120823-190815.jpg

They shook the baggies really well and worked the color into each one. We let the baggies sit for a couple hours and then I laid them out to dry. We had a noodle rainbow!

20120823-190954.jpg

Looking back I would have had them do one bag at a time and shake it really well. We had a few clumps.

I let them dry for an hour and broke up any clumps as best I could. I cooked them in a big pot with a splash of oil like I normally would. Next time I’ll do blue based colors separately from the red based ones to prevent colors blending. This is our bucket of noodles! I mixed in a splash of olive oil to keep them from getting gummy.

20120823-191334.jpg

I got the tub ready and put it in the fridge overnight. Today we spread out a sheet in the living room and let the kids go to town. They had cups, bowls, and various kitchen utensils.

20120823-191549.jpg

K loved the fact that he could play with them and eat them.

20120823-191640.jpg

And here is E in the bucket.

20120823-191754.jpg

They had a lot of fun. K played restaurant. E explored everything. The best part? It only costs $1 to do.

I’d rather spend $20 on different fun projects that they’ll remember than the same money on a plastic toy that will be be forgotten.

It’ll be a few more days of horrible phone pics. My computer is still being worked on. 😦


3 responses to “Dyed Cooked Spaghetti Play

  1. how cool! looks like they had a great time 🙂

  2. […] Here is my original post on dyed spaghetti. […]

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4