Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dyed Cooked Spaghetti Play

on August 23, 2012

We dyed dry noodles with food coloring and rubbing alcohol the other day but I stumbled upon a tutorial for dying noodles with vinegar. You can actually cook the colored noodles and eat them!

Dying noodles for eating/play:

I set up the table with baggies of spaghetti broken in half, a bowl of vinegar with a teaspoon, and food coloring.

20120823-190536.jpg

Daddy helped K count out and pour 3 teaspoons (or 1 tbs) of vinegar into each baggy. They also counted out 6 drops of food coloring into each baggy. We had six total and used a whole ($0.75) pack of spaghetti.

20120823-190815.jpg

They shook the baggies really well and worked the color into each one. We let the baggies sit for a couple hours and then I laid them out to dry. We had a noodle rainbow!

20120823-190954.jpg

Looking back I would have had them do one bag at a time and shake it really well. We had a few clumps.

I let them dry for an hour and broke up any clumps as best I could. I cooked them in a big pot with a splash of oil like I normally would. Next time I’ll do blue based colors separately from the red based ones to prevent colors blending. This is our bucket of noodles! I mixed in a splash of olive oil to keep them from getting gummy.

20120823-191334.jpg

I got the tub ready and put it in the fridge overnight. Today we spread out a sheet in the living room and let the kids go to town. They had cups, bowls, and various kitchen utensils.

20120823-191549.jpg

K loved the fact that he could play with them and eat them.

20120823-191640.jpg

And here is E in the bucket.

20120823-191754.jpg

They had a lot of fun. K played restaurant. E explored everything. The best part? It only costs $1 to do.

I’d rather spend $20 on different fun projects that they’ll remember than the same money on a plastic toy that will be be forgotten.

It’ll be a few more days of horrible phone pics. My computer is still being worked on. 😦

3 responses to “Dyed Cooked Spaghetti Play

  1. how cool! looks like they had a great time 🙂

  2. […] Here is my original post on dyed spaghetti. […]

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

