Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Spawn of Shelob

on August 9, 2013

Fridays are family breakfast/brunch date day. Usually we do something cheap like donuts on non-payday Fridays and something that involves actual plates on payday Fridays.

Today was a fancy Friday. We decided to go to Cracker Barrel. Yep… Extra fancy.

We’d ask K a billion several times to get his shoes from the play room. He kept telling us there was a spider. I finally took a break from trying to chase down E with Husband and went to investigate.

K is not the bravest kid. It took me a while to convince him he could hold a doodle bug without contracting a fatal disease. So, I expected to see a tiny run-of-the-mill house spider. We live in rural area in Texas… Spiders happen.

This is what I found:

image

Ok, so this is actually a picture of Aragog... But it is close!

Sweet nightmares! This thing was surely a descendant of Shelob, born from the depths of hell itself.

Me: HUSBAND!

Husband: What’s wron… OH SWEET JESUS!

Me: Do not squish that thing in my house! Take it out and kill it!

Husband was temporarily stunned.

Me: GET A CUUUUP! KILL IT! KILL IT WITH FIRE!

image

Husband the Brave battling the Shelob

Husband sprung into action, trapped it in a cup, and took it outside to vanquish.

K: I told you there was a spider…

Yes you did kid. Yes you did.

About that time something flung itself at me from behind the futon.

Me: AHHH! SPIDER ATTACK!

K: It’s a grasshopper mom.

I have become far wimpier during pregnancy…

We did eventually make it to Cracker Barrel. It was 11 when we got there. Husband and I pretended it was still breakfast time and soothed our frazzled spider battling nerves with pancakes. The kids chose macaroni.

image

Pictured: Why I wish E was clingier to daddy.

Mmm, slimy cheese covered toddler.

Happy Friday! I’ll have a Friday Favorites up later this evening, provided I’m not eaten by hell-spiders.

10 responses to “Spawn of Shelob

  1. Eeeeek! I had goosebumps looking at the spider on the photo! Thankfully the last photo made me smile! 🙂

  2. ladymelian says:

    Thanks for the early morning laugh! I hate spiders too! I remember when I was pregnant, I opened the boot of my car to get groceries out to find a giant ass huntsman sitting there staring at me!! I completely freaked out and stood in the driveway bawling my eyes out until hubby got home to kill it (only 5 mins thankfully)! I blame pregnancy hormones for that crazy reaction! Lol

  3. Valerie says:

    Bugs should not be allowed in the house!! Especially during pregnancy!!!!!!! 😉

  4. Bugs are so gross!!! I had a similar incident with a palmetto bug one day when I was younger (my parents had a palm tree in the yard so there’s no escaping those nasty flying buggers in humid Florida). I battled it in many non-traditional ways and finally emerged victorious. I still have the sign my friend made me that said “mighty roach warrior” to remind me that if hubby isn’t home, I can still handle critters….well, at least to some extent 🙂

    • Roaches are the worst! Especially the big water bug kind. We get those in Texas as well. I trapped a giant wasp today! I was getting into the shower and it flew out at me. I was home alone. I finally trapped it under a cup. Then I used paper to slide under the cup and taped the paper around the cup. The whole thing went into a ziplock… My husband laughed at me when he got home… Never under estimate a naked pregnant lady confronted when a bug!

  5. […] they have also been bringing less desirable critters indoors. Earlier this week we battled the huge Shelob spider. A few days ago I found a giant wasp in the shower. (Being home alone, naked, and pregnant is not […]

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

