Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

A whirlwind staycation

on July 23, 2013

My family really wanted a vacation this year, but Baby F surprised us. Being 7 months pregnant, having just moved, and transitioning to being a stay at home mom have all put a damper on any long, far, or expensive plans.

We opted for the next best thing- a staycation. We loaded up the kids, ourselves, and my in-laws and traveled a whopping 30 miles to the Gaylord Texan Resort. It was seriously the biggest hotel I’ve ever seen and definitely the biggest place I have stayed.

image

Look at this place!

The entire middle of this thing is a giant atrium with several restaurants, bars, and lots of fun stuff to look at. It has an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a water park. Crazy!

image

The kids and my mother-in-law walking in the atrium.

image

My E. She is adorable, but I'm more than a little partial.

image

This is my favorite picture ever.

image

View from our room.

image image
image

The lazy river- my favorite part.

image

Toddler grotto- complete with a gate to keep them in! (My hubby, MIL, K, and E.)

image

My big pregnant belly and the kiddos.

Konner told me at the water park that Baby F wanted to “jump out of my mouth and go swimming”. Great imagery bud.

We had a great time. Although, it is a difficult conundrum to be very pregnant at a water park and having to pee frequently… “How do I do this without having to get a wet suit back over this belly?”

image

E decided to make some cheese and cookie soup when we got home...


10 responses to “A whirlwind staycation

  1. momtimes4 says:

    Wow! That hotel is amazing!! Cute pictures!

    • There is a bigger one (Great Wolf Lodge) across the street that has an enormous indoor water park… It is also twice as expensive. Yep, I was happy with our choice. My father-in-law was able to use some travel points towards our rooms too. 🙂

  2. fortworthbelle says:

    It looks like y’all had a blast! =)

  3. That place looks amazing! Now I want to plan a vacation there! 🙂

    • It was gorgeous. And it is near the airport and a huge outlet mall with an Aquarium and Lego Land Center inside. And a Bass Pro Shop. Not my thing, but my husband and his dad, despite their lack of hunting skills, love that place. 😉

  4. Valerie says:

    That place is HUGE!!! And beautifuL!

  5. Wow, I love this. And your children are so beautiful. I will be telling my hubby about this we live in OK so it wouldn’t be too much of stretch, just one state over- although Texas is enormous.

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4