Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

A whirlwind staycation

on July 23, 2013

My family really wanted a vacation this year, but Baby F surprised us. Being 7 months pregnant, having just moved, and transitioning to being a stay at home mom have all put a damper on any long, far, or expensive plans.

We opted for the next best thing- a staycation. We loaded up the kids, ourselves, and my in-laws and traveled a whopping 30 miles to the Gaylord Texan Resort. It was seriously the biggest hotel I’ve ever seen and definitely the biggest place I have stayed.

image

Look at this place!

The entire middle of this thing is a giant atrium with several restaurants, bars, and lots of fun stuff to look at. It has an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a water park. Crazy!

image

The kids and my mother-in-law walking in the atrium.

image

My E. She is adorable, but I'm more than a little partial.

image

This is my favorite picture ever.

image

View from our room.

image image
image

The lazy river- my favorite part.

image

Toddler grotto- complete with a gate to keep them in! (My hubby, MIL, K, and E.)

image

My big pregnant belly and the kiddos.

Konner told me at the water park that Baby F wanted to “jump out of my mouth and go swimming”. Great imagery bud.

We had a great time. Although, it is a difficult conundrum to be very pregnant at a water park and having to pee frequently… “How do I do this without having to get a wet suit back over this belly?”

image

E decided to make some cheese and cookie soup when we got home...

10 responses to “A whirlwind staycation

  1. momtimes4 says:

    Wow! That hotel is amazing!! Cute pictures!

    • There is a bigger one (Great Wolf Lodge) across the street that has an enormous indoor water park… It is also twice as expensive. Yep, I was happy with our choice. My father-in-law was able to use some travel points towards our rooms too. 🙂

  2. It looks like y’all had a blast! =)

  3. That place looks amazing! Now I want to plan a vacation there! 🙂

    • It was gorgeous. And it is near the airport and a huge outlet mall with an Aquarium and Lego Land Center inside. And a Bass Pro Shop. Not my thing, but my husband and his dad, despite their lack of hunting skills, love that place. 😉

  4. Valerie says:

    That place is HUGE!!! And beautifuL!

  5. Wow, I love this. And your children are so beautiful. I will be telling my hubby about this we live in OK so it wouldn’t be too much of stretch, just one state over- although Texas is enormous.

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

