Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Soap Clouds and Small Failures

on November 13, 2012

I’ve been seeing a lot of hype about putting Ivory bar soap in the microwave and decided it was time to give it a try.

I loaded up the kids today and went to my friend’s house for a play date. I stopped by my mom’s on the way to borrow her blender. We also stopped at Sonic for slushes.

We got to my friend’s house and started our soap experiment:

We cut a bar of Ivory Soap in half. (It must be Ivory!)

20121113-141531.jpg

Next you pop it in the microwave for two minutes and watch the magic. It smells really good too.

20121113-141633.jpg
(In the process of picking up kids to let them see I managed to knock K’s blue slush all over the floor. )

The kids loved it. It puffs up into a huge cloud. I didn’t expect it to be so light and fluffy!

20121113-141859.jpg

K decided it was snow. Here are the kids playing.

20121113-142140.jpg

20121113-142205.jpg

When they were done playing we put our soap snow in the blender with a little water and food coloring.

20121113-142432.jpg

I have a molded cookie pan with princess/girly shapes and another with cars/planes/rockets. We sprayed them with cooking oil. We scooped our soap into the pan and put it in the freezer to set up.

20121113-142632.jpg

We actually made a blue batch for the boys but K tripped on the blender cord and we ended up with glass and blue soap everywhere.

Here are the soaps that came out. Not perfect but they were excited.

20121113-143248.jpg

I felt terrible that we made such a big mess but it turned out ok. The kids still had a blast. Not every craft or adventure will turn out the way you expect. Most of the time our set backs bother me way more than the kids. They just thought it was fun to watch a bar of soap puff up and really didn’t care if they made perfect mini soaps.

Now I need to see if I can find a new pitcher for my mom’s blender…

20121113-144213.jpg

***Update***I forgot to mention that it isn’t wet at all. It really is fluffy and dry to the touch. Also, I highly reccomend sweeping/vacuuming up any mess before wiping with something wet or you’ll get a big soapy mess.


9 responses to “Soap Clouds and Small Failures

  1. like this idea! its’ such a good project to do with kids for kids (good luck finding your mom a new pitcher for your blender!) 🙂

    • Thanks. She may be getting a new blender for Christmas. Luckily, they don’t use it much anymore. My little sister used it for smoothies but she just moved into an apartment and has her own blender now. I’ll just keep her nephew away from it.

  2. 🙂 LOL, my hubby broke ours over a year ago and we haven’t replaced yet either! 🙂 hubby and kids are the same! 🙂

    • We have a Baby Bullet that we used to make baby food. It makes smaller batches but I use it for most things. I don’t even remember the last time I got our big blender out. I looked for it today but couldn’t find the lid- hence borrowing my mom’s. Oh well. At least blenders aren’t too expensive.

  3. that’s true! 🙂 I might end up getting one when I will really need it! 🙂

  4. What a fun experiment!

Leave a comment

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

JDunlap Gaming

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4