Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The science experiment in my sink.

on October 15, 2012

It would be a vast understatement to say that shopping and cooking have not been at the top of my priority list this week. I’m pretty sure that, other than medicine droppers, dishes haven’t even made a blip on my radar. The only groceries we’ve bought have been saltines and Pedialyte. We have things in our fridge that are closer to petri dishes than food.

Andy has the day off and it became apparent that my family may actually want to eat today. My emergency stash of chicken nuggets is gone. Our freezer is sans Eggos. No fruit. No salad makings. We have pb and j but no bread.

The only lunch options I find are some frozen veggies, a dented can of tomato soup, and my reserve of only-on-the-laziest-of-days blue box mac and cheese. I decide to go for the mac and cheese. I know the 3 year old will eat it and we still have just enough milk for it.

I realize that I will also need a pan. The pan I need is in the overflowing sink of dishes.

Darn!

I dig in and find the pan and the scrub brush. I know scrub brushes are gross but they get off the oatmeal crust so that I can use a clean rag. However, I was startled to find our scrub brush in this state…

20121015-135109.jpg

That would be a bean spout growing on the scrub brush. I vaguely remember K spilling some dried beans in the sink but surely it wasn’t that long ago? I’m all for science experiments, but I don’t want to find life forms in my sink.

Usually I get the cleaning bug after everyone gets over being sick but I’m just not there yet. E is getting less clingy and I think I need to put on my big girl panties and tackle the kitchen tonight. Andy is working out at the “Old House” this afternoon and has been talked into a grocery run.

Update on E: Only one fever so far. She doesn’t seem to be in pain today. She isn’t eating much but is taking milk well. As long as she improves, we won’t go back to the doctor until after she finishes her antibiotics.

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

