Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

You get what you get…

on October 7, 2012

I have a new favorite momism.

You get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.

I’m sure it will be something my kids will eventually grow to hate. My mom had a similar version, “What you want and what you get are two different things.” I have distinct teen memories of rolling my eyes to that one.

It may annoy them, but it is still a necessary life skill. We do not always get exactly what we want. I want to be skinny and have more money and better clothes, but I have to be content with the things I cannot change.

Yes, we can sometimes work to change our circumstances but it will not always be possible. We have to learn to be content and be patient with where we are. We have to do our best with what we’re given.

Tonight at AWANA K decided he wanted the blue bean bag during games but they had already been taken. He pouted and whined. I will not get another out to appease my little dictator (or anyone else’s). His option became to use the red one he was given or sit out. He eventually decided the red bean bag was better than missing out.

We had a similar incident later because he wanted a different towel. He has heard my new favorite momism a lot tonight. I, like the American government, have a strict policy of not negotiating with terrorist. (Any parent with a 3 year old can attest to the occasional terrorizing small children do to extort parental cooperation.)

We don’t do kids any favors by always giving in to their demands. It may appease them temporarily, but they learn that they can cry and whine and stomp their feet to get their way.

The real world does not work that way. You cannot always win. You don’t always get to be first. You may want blue but have to settle for green.

Humility and learning to serve others is a tough life skill for kids and grown-ups. You get a big dose of it during parenthood.

Bonus: Another one of my favorite pics from the photo shoot.

20121007-210548.jpg
That way brother!

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

