Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

If Mama Ain’t Happy…

on September 12, 2012

There is a big trend on Pinterest right now of happy inspirational poems about enjoying your kids. The message is a good one: cleaning, chores, and worldly pressures can wait because children grow up way too fast.

I really don’t disagree with this concept. It has value. We don’t need to micromanage our homes and take our children for granted. Kids need to experience childhood wonder.

I get it.

But I am human, and I have a breaking point. I have days where I just can’t handle the mess of life. I reach a mental state of “if I impale my foot on one more Lego or pull one more petrified Cheerio out of the baby’s hand, I am going to go bat crap crazy”.

When I reach that place, there will be cleaning because if mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.

I truly believe in learning through play. We do fun messy activities several times a week. But I also believe in teaching life skills.

Cleaning is a life skill. I want my son to actually see the pile of dirty laundry and not just walk around it. I want K and E to realize that no magical fairy will float around behind them to tidy up their messes.

Today the kids decided to pull every toy out of the toy box, fill it with blankets, and use it as a pirate ship.

20120912-172506.jpg
I let them enjoy themselves. I even snapped a couple pictures.

Aren’t they cute?

But guess who put all the toys back in the toy box? Not this mama. I made K pick up every single one. I don’t think it was too much for a 3 year old. His arms and legs function perfectly, and hopefully when he is a young man out on his own he’ll actually throw away the pizza boxes and ramen wrappers.

You’re welcome, K’s future wife.

2 responses to “If Mama Ain’t Happy…

  1. I too can not stand the house being too messy. This summer I let things go quite a bit. The floors weren’t scrubbed as often as I would have preferred and there was noticeable dust at times but the house was always generally “picked up”!!!

    • I’m pretty similar. I can handle functionally messy but not dirty. I don’t always get to scrub and deep clean as often as I’d like but I can’t handle crumbs on the floor or stepping on toys.

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

