Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

I am not a table!

on September 7, 2012

After a long morning of chasing the toddler and wrangling the 3 year old, I finally sink into my big arm chair to feed E. We snuggle up and she falls asleep eating. Soon I zone out too. I drift off into a pseudo-sleep and dream of coffee, David Tutera weddings, and massages.

When I come crashing back to reality I look like the junk lady from the Labyrinth.

Ever feel like this?

I now have about 50 assorted toys, an empty juice cup, a used tissue, a sleeping baby, and a stream of drool piled up on my lap.

I’m not sure why, but K thinks I am his personal toy box/table/junk pile. He runs by all the time and just leaves things on my lap. It is one of the great unknown mysteries of the ages- why does mom make a better container than the toy chest that is only a few feet away?

I have a lot of commonly used phrases:

“Put your underwear on!”
“We don’t paint sister.”
“No sir/ma’am. Don’t touch that.”
“Please sit on your bottom.”
“Have you lost your mind?!”
“What are you doing? Are you supposed to be doing that?”
“What would be a good choice right now?”
“If you don’t stop
(insert behavior here), you are going to go take a nap.”

Today it has been, “I am not a table.” This is followed by the immediate loss of whatever he dropped on me.

There is a good size pile of treasures building up on the end table today. Maybe he’ll learn.

2 responses to “I am not a table!

  1. Amanda B. says:

    I laughed out loud at that one.

    • Ha. Thanks. I actually did fall asleep on the couch one morning. E was still asleep and K was watching cartoons. I wake up and seriously have blankets and stuffed animals piled up on top of me.

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

