Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Colored Noodle Play

on August 19, 2012

20120819-151311.jpg

Well, our computer is being shipped off for repairs. I’ll be posting from my phone for a few days. Sorry in advance for the phone pictures.

I decided to try my hand at dying dried noodles for K. I bought a box of rigatoni noodles for a whopping $0.88. We spend big on play stuff, huh?

I split them up into six different sandwich bags and added food coloring. We made green, yellow, red, orange, blue, and purple. I was running very low on blue food coloring, but we used what we had. Our “blue” ended up light green and “purple” is kind of pink.

I then added a small bit of rubbing alcohol (maybe 1 tbs) to each bag, sealed them up, and gave them a good shake. I left them in the bags, occasionally shaking them, overnight.

The next day I dumped them all out onto a pan lined with paper towels. We have a few multi-colored noodles from where they touched while drying. If you don’t want color mixing, separate them while drying. I left them out overnight and they were dry this morning.

K and his cousin (both 3) had a blast with them today. They mixed them with their Legos and eventually used big, dull needles to string them on yarn. We sent cousin KT home with some noodles, yarn, and a dull needle of her own.

It was less than a dollar well spent. 🙂

20120819-151347.jpg

One response to “Colored Noodle Play

  1. […] dyed dry noodles with food coloring and rubbing alcohol the other day but I stumbled upon a tutorial for dying […]

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

