Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Grace and Ice Cream

on August 17, 2012

20120817-222032.jpg

Today was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

I spent 3 hours of my life on hold and talking to tech support. Our computer is overheating and having issues possessed. I won’t go into details but I’ve been fighting with the manufacturer and the buyer protection program people all day. Both seem to think the other should handle it.

In the middle of all this mess, my 3 year old is being a 3 year old. In my mind I know that the stubbornness is part of this age, but to my nerves it becomes a personal assault. I am grieving the loss of nap time today. He still “rested” but I miss the long afternoon naps.

Road rage and a general dislike of humanity also played a part in the downward spiral of my mood. I am generally a people person but I have “quiet” days where my inner introvert takes over. On days like this I would gladly avoid all human contact.

I dreamt of deserted islands today. An umbrella and a beach towel and a good book…

This did not happen, but I did make it through the day. I am now holding my baby girl while she sleeps, waiting for my husband to get home, and taking a few minutes to breathe.

I cannot claim that I love every moment of my life as a mom but there are always a few beautiful moments hidden away in each day.

Today I am thankful for ice cream. I am thankful for sticky 3 year old kisses. I am thankful for seeing my baby girl toddle across the floor with her arms stretched out to me. I am thankful for parents and in-laws that are such good grandparents to our kids. I am thankful for my husband respecting my need for a few quiet minutes when I’m having an introverted day.

Most of all, I am truly grateful for God’s grace. My sins are great but He still loves me. I did not extend that same grace to my fellow man today and I am deeply sorry for that. I pray that tomorrow I can see each person I encounter through God’s eyes and show grace and love to them.

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

