Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Homemade Baby Wipes

on August 9, 2012

For once my kiddos are actually napping at the same time! I decided to use the time afforded by this serendipitous event to make a new batch of homemade baby wipes and add to the blog…

What a charmed life I lead.

Anyway, as most of my friends and family know, I am all about homemade products. I try to cut as many chemicals out of our daily lives as possible. They are harmful and expensive!

I’m always scouring the net for new recipes and ideas. One great tool I’ve discovered is Pinterest. You can find so many great homemaking ideas on that site. (Follow my Pinterest boards here.)

I found several great sites for homemade cleaners and household products. One Good Thing By Jillee is my favorite. I took her recipe for wipes and tweaked it a bit to my personal preference.

You will need:

  • A paper towel roll that has been cut in half (I use Sparkle select a size and have my husband cut a few in half at a time with a super sharp straight blade. If you use a serrated blade, you will have little nubs that come off your wipes.)
  • 1 tbsp baby oil
  • 1 tbsp baby wash
  • 1 1/2- 2 cups boiled water
  • Plastic container big enough to hold the halved paper towel roll
Image

What you need!

I pour the baby oil, baby wash, and about 1 1/2 cups of boiled water into the container. I used boiled water to keep anything gross from growing on my wipes later. I try to start with less water but keep my pan of boiled water available to add more if my wipes seems too dry. You can always add more water but you can’t take it out!

Image

Still steaming from the boiled water.

Give your ingredients a swirl to mix them and then plop your halved paper towel roll right in there.
Close it up and turn it upside down to let the mixture soak into all of it. I will sometimes add a little more of the boiled water if they still look too dry after a few minutes of soaking up the mixture. At this point the noodle of the roll should slide right out.

Image

Once everything finished soak in, you are done! Just start pulling your wipes from the middle!

Image

Homemade Baby Wipes!

2 responses to “Homemade Baby Wipes

  1. […] This is my original recipe for homemade baby wipes. […]

  2. thecleverspender says:

    I wish I had known about this when my children were little! What a great idea. Inexpensive and no chemicals!

Leave a Reply

TheBamBlog

Real. Life. Storytelling.

Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Dates 2 Diapers

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

Thirty-Four Million Moments

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in The Chaos.

A family and lifestyle blog by a SAHM in Northern Ireland.

Máthair Fiona

Be thankful. Give thanks. Live thankfully.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Chronicles of the Deranged

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

