Mama Miller Parenting

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Easy Homemade Laundry Soap

on August 21, 2012

20120821-174137.jpg

We’ve been really trying to cut back on the use of chemicals in our home. We make our own cleaners, baby food, and baby wipes. It has been so much cheaper and makes me feel good as a mom. I finally decided to try homemade laundry soap a few months ago.

It took finding a no-grate laundry soap recipe to convince me. I had no desire (read zero) to grate soap. Finding a no-grate recipe was perfect.

This recipe works well but I am one of those people that is never content with the recipes of others. From food to cleaning products to crafts, I like to tinker with things and make it my own. I found a bottle of lavender liquid castile soap on sale at Central Market. I’d heard great things about castile soap and decided to add it to my recipe.

Easy Homemade Laundry Soap:

• 3 tbs borax
• 3 tbs washing soda
• 2 tbs Dawn dish soap (blue is best)
• 2 tbs liquid castile soap
• about a gallon of boiling water

You’ll also need:

• a funnel
• a spoon with a long handle for stirring
• an old water jug or laundry soap jug

Instructions

1. Start a big pot of water boiling. (I boil all water used in my homemade products to prevent any yucky growth.)
2. While the water boils, use a funnel to add the dry ingredients and then the soaps to your jug.
3. Pour boiled water into the jug and give it a good stir with the handle of a long spoon.
4. Let it cool.

20120821-174152.jpg

That is it!

I mix mine in a separate gallon jug and then pour into an old detergent container with a spout. I add about 1/2 cups to each load. (I honestly just eyeball it.) The original recipe I used did not have castile soap. It worked ok but took a lot more per load.

I make it about once a month. I spent $12 total on all my ingredients (the castile soap was the most expensive) a few months ago and still have a ton left for future batches. You can double the Dawn if you can’t find castile soap. You can also add in a few drops of essential oil for fragrance if you like. My kids have super sensitive skin and have no problems with this soap.

Again, sorry for the phone pictures. My computer is being shipped off for repairs.

3 responses to “Easy Homemade Laundry Soap

  1. joy renée says:

    FYI!!! If you have a High Efficiency model washing machine, using Dawn dish soap will void the warranty and can cause build up in some of the mechanisms of the machine. If you have a traditional washer, though, it should be totally fine!

    • We have an HE washer and were told it was fine. It is low sudsing. I have heard that it can take some of the “good grease” out of your machine but you can use a regular detergent occasionally to flush it out.

  2. thecleverspender says:

    I was all excited when I saw the “no grate” part. However, I think I’ll stick to the original “grated” recipe since I have an HE washer. I don’t want to take the chance. I have to get back to the homemade detergent – I have gotten lazy and have been using the store bought stuff (and spending too much money on it!).

Leave a Reply

The Unexpected Stay At Home Mom

I never dreamed I'd end up here

From 2 to 3 Kids

When life hands you lemons, make lemonade.

scottishmomus

What I See

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Louis and Mel

Let's have some pun.

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

My Personal Accent

DIY Eclectic Guide to Life

Baking in a Tornado

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

The Three Bears

Life as I know it...

The Adventures of Supermom

Everything from motherhood to love...and anything else that comes to mind.

Making Memories in the Chaos

A stay at home mum sharing life with her 3 bubbas.

Máthair Fiona

Thoughts and musings of a stay-at-home mountain woman.

The Tabletop Vector

A convergence of tabletop gaming, music, and geek culture.

Passionate parenting and homemaking.

What the Mom

Real tips from a mom of 4

Mom Rants and Comfy Pants

Ramblings From a Veteran Mom Who Hates Skinny Jeans. Ever Feel Like You're Swimming Upstream?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers

